

Report to COUNCIL

The Result of the Royton North By-Election and Review of the Composition of Political Groups

Portfolio Holder: Councillor J Stretton, Leader of the Council

Officer Contact: Paul Entwistle, Director of Legal Services

Report Author: Elizabeth Drogan, Head of Constitutional Services **Ext.** 4705

12th July 2017

Reason for Decision

For Elected Members to note the outcome of the local By-Election on the 8th June 2017, to note the composition of the political groups and to approve the change in committee seats from 75 to 74 and changes to the Performance and Value for Money Select Committee.

Recommendations

The Council are requested to:

- 1. Note the result of the By-Election.
- 2. Agree the composition of the political groups as outlined in the report and the changes to the Performance and Value for Money Select Committee composition and Membership from that agreed the Annual meeting on the 17th May 2017.

The Result of the Royton North By-Election and Review of the Composition of Political Groups

12th July 2017

1 Local By-Election Results

1.1 A local By-Election took place on 8th June 2017 and the following was elected to serve as Member of the Council as shown:

Ward	Turnout	Councillor	
Royton North	65.54%	Clinton Phythian	

Councillor Clinton Phythian is a member of the Labour Group on the Council.

2 **Political Groups**

- 2.1 Subsequent to the results of the Local By-Election on 8th June 2017 the Council is asked to note the composition of the political groups as notified under Regulation 8(1) of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1980.
 - i. The Labour Group 46 members
 - ii. The Liberal Democrat Group 9 members
 - iii. The Conservative Group 2 members
 - iv. UKIP 1 Member
 - v. Independent 2 Members
- 2.2 The allocation of Committees and Sub-Committees has been reviewed and a slight change to proportionality is required as a result of this.

It is recommended to reduce the number of available seats to 74 rather than 75 as agreed at Full Council at the annual meeting to ensure fair political balance on committees. A reduction of 1 to the Performance and Value for Money Select Committee will enable 74 places to be available rather than 75.

The political group sizes based on 74 Committee places available as a percentage of the total membership of the Council are:-

Labour Group	46/60 x 100 = 76.66%	74 seats x 76.66% = 56.72	56 Seats
Liberal Democrat Group	9/60 x 100 = 15%	74 seats x 15% = 11.10	12 Seats
Conservative Group	2/60 x 100 = 3.33%	74 seats x 3.33% = 2.46	3 Seats
UKIP	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	74 seats x 1.66% = 1.23	1 Seats
Independent	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	74 seats x 1.66 % = 1.23	1 Seat
Independent	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	74 seats x 1.66% = 1.23	1 seat

Each of the Calculations have been adjusted to ensure the total number of seats are apportioned.

Applying political balance as detailed above, the allocation of seats, to the current committee structure, based on 74 seats would be as follows:-

Committee	Seats	L	LD	С	U	Ι	I
Licensing	15	11	2	1	0	1	0
Planning	14	10	2	1	1	0	0
O&S Performance & Value for Money Select Committee	<mark>8</mark>	<mark>6</mark>	<mark>1</mark>	1	<mark>0</mark>	<mark>0</mark>	<mark>0</mark>
O&S Management Board	8	6	1	0	0	0	1
Audit Committee	9	7	2	0	0	0	0
Commons Registration Committee	5	4	1	0	0	0	0
Selection Committee	5	4	1	0	0	0	0
Local NJC	7	6	1	0	0	0	0
Appeals Committee	3	2	1	0	0	0	0
Total	74	56	12	3	1	1	1

Appendix 1 provides details of the change to membership of the Performance and Value for Money Committee. All other Committee appointments agreed on the 17th May 2017 remain the same.

Appendix 1

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY VALUE FOR MONEY COMMITTEE							
Council Members 8	Lab 6	Lib Dem	1 1 Con 1			Quorum 3	
Chair: Councillor Wrigglesworth Vice Chair:							
Lab					Cor	'n	
M. Bashforth			Blyth (O		She	eldon	
Ali			•	ł.			
Ahmad							
Fielding							
Phythian Phythian							

Substitutes (ordered)	Lab	Lib Dem	Con
	Dean	McCann	
	A. Alexander		
	Cosgrove		
	S. Bashforth		